Overseas Territories

Despite the rapid process of global decolonization since World War II, around eight million people in more than 50 territories around the world continue to live under the protection of France, Australia, Denmark, the Netherlands, Norway, New Zealand, the UK, or the USA. These remnants of former colonial empires may have persisted for economic, strategic, or political reasons and are administered by the protecting country in a variety of ways.

Réunion uses the flag of France. Although the federal period installed a number of flags of metropolitan France, Réunion does not have a separate official flag. However, the regional council of Réunion has a flag.

Status: Overseas department – see France

Claimed: 1638

Capital: Saint-Denis

Population: 827,000

Area: 970 sq miles (2500 sq km)

DX Countries


Leave a Reply

Please log in using one of these methods to post your comment: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s